What is the 7th Chakra? Explore the Crown Chakra, aka Sahasrara because you are connected!

Wide Legged Forward Bend, Prasarita Padottanasana, third eye chakra, yoga for third eye, yoga for intuition

The crown chakra, also called Sahasrara in sanskrit, it’s the seventh chakra of the seven main chakra system and it translates into “infinite”.

There is no determined psychological development but normally it occurs from the age of 42 and onward and it’s all about returning to one’s original spiritual nature and home.

The challenges brought upon with this chakra are related with releasing the ego and gaining the trust in guidance of the universe. When we think we already know, we eliminate possibilities and opportunities, and get blinded by our known world, our safe box. When this chakra is open, we are open to get out of the box and explore, keep learning and understanding that we belong to something much bigger than us.

The Sahasrara is believed to be the home of Shiva, a deity that represents pure consciousness. The goal of balancing the seventh chakra is to locate Shiva and achieve the union with Shakti, which represents power, as it travels from the lower chakras all the way to the top. Once both divine forces are unified, the ultimate awakening from the world of illusion (Maya) can be achieved.

This mythological view represents the energy flow from the bottom chakras all the way up to higher consciousness states. When our needs are met, our survival is not on the quest, our will is not guided by our ego and the already learned and known knowledge, we can be open minded and therefore unify our individual self with the collective consciousness.

A balanced crown chakra manifest itself by the feeling of oneness, bliss, happiness, inner peace, trust in life, emotional stability and clarity of mind.

Where is the Crown Chakra located?

crown chakra, mantra crown chakra, sahasrara mantra

The crown chakra is located at the center of the top of the head. Many defend that it looks that a crown that radiates outward, therefore its name.

It is primarily associated to the pituitary gland, and secondarily to the pineal and the hypothalamus. The hypothalamus and pituitary gland work in pair to regulate the endocrine system. It is therefore related with the brain and the whole nervous system, it impacts body functions such as the regulation of temperature, balance, sleep, heart rate, breathing, coordination and many other critical processes.

Crown Chakra Symbol, what does it mean?

sahasrara symbol, corwn chakra symbol, thousand petals symbol

1000 petals represents the full blossoming of consciousness, the lotus flower symbolizes prosperity and eternity of these integral connections.

Circle represents the full moon, openness, awakening of the conscious mind

Sahasrara translates into “infinite”, space or nothingness, self-transcedence, oneness

Violet and White color are associated with purity, forgivness and renewal

Is my Crown Chakra out of balance?

There is many different manifestations of imbalance in the crown chakra, they may become visible on your physical body or manifest in a more emotional or mental way.

Take a look a the most common manifestations of imbalance of the crown chakra:

Chronic fatigueClosed-mindednessFear of the unknown
MigrainesDisconnection with the worldFear of death
Chronic headachesDisconnection with the divineBoredom and frustration
Neurological or endocrine disordersObsessive attachment to spiritual matters
Sensitivity to light and soundDepression
Manifestation of imbalances of the Crown Chakra

how can i balance my crown chakra?

There is many ways you can improve the health of your heart chakra. Here are some tips:

  • Food, through the ingestion of light raw foods and superfoods, water, white and golden foods.
  • Aromatherapy (essential oils or incense): jasmine, rose, lavender, sandalwood, frankincense and myrrh
  • Mudra: interlace the fingers, right thumb on top, bringing the pinky fingers to touch and pointing up
  • Mantra: OM or AH (listen here); “I honor myself and everything around me” or silence
  • Crystals: Celestite, Clear Quartz, Spirit Quartz
  • Meditation
  • Yoga positions like: Supported Headstand (Salamba Sirsasana), Lotus Pose(Padmasana), Seated Forward Bend (Paschimottanasana), Reclining Bound Angle (Supta Baddha Konasana)

Share this with you family and friends!

Ready to start your practice?

Subscribe in a reader

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We use cookies in order to give you the best possible experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies.
Privacy Policy