What is the 2nd Chakra? Explore the Sacral Chakra, aka Svadhishthana because you are creative!

Utkata Konasana, goddess pose, yoga for sacral chakra, yoga for creativity, increase creativity, increase libido

The sacral chakra, also called Svadhishthana in sanskrit, it’s the second chakra of the seven main chakra system and it translates into “where your being is established.”

Its psychological development occurs between the age of 7 and 14 and it’s to begin with our ability to be creative, emotional, and in tune with ourselves and others.

As it develops it becomes also the center of pleasure, enjoyment and passion not only for other but life itself. In females, enables reproduction, the survival of the species, birth, and creation of the new (qualities that are seen in man in the root chakra)

Qualities seen in children and young teens like aliveness, humor, flexibility, playfulness, enthusiasm, passion and curiosity are qualities from the sacral chakra.

The problem is that nowadays we are not given too many opportunities to be creative. Our education is highly standardized not leaving enough room for this creative moments to occur. In order to maintain this qualities as an adult, consider giving yourself activities that promote creativity, like drawing, painting, gardening, painting, playing games, etc. that will allow you to use the same creative power when it comes to problem solving and dealing with new situations. Because it is related with the element “water”, allows you to flow with life.

A balanced sacral chakra manifest itself by being able to source energy for creativity, movement, procreation, desire, pleasure, and relationships. It also means contentment with our own body, contentment in relationships both at an emotional and physical levels.

Where is the Root Chakra located?

2nd chakra, sacral chakra, mantra for creativity, creativity, Svadhishthana

The sacral chakra is located above the spleen, in the lumbar region, just above the sexual organs, and beneath the navel.

The Sacral Chakra is also associated with the sexual glands, lymphatic system, abdominal organs (lower abdomen) – organs which regulate the water balance in our body – kidneys and urinary system.

Sacral Chakra Symbol, what does it mean?

2nd chakra, sacral chakra, mantra for creativity, creativity, Svadhishthana symbol, meaning of the 2nd chakra symbol

The Six Petals symbolize the qualities that must be overcome – anger, jealousy, cruelty, hatred, pride and desire

The Circle represents the cycle of nature, birth, death and rebirth

The Two Concentric Circles symbolizes the moon cycles, chaos, never-ending change and constant movement.

The orange color represents activity and aliveness as well as purity

Is my Sacral Chakra out of balance?

There is many different manifestations of imbalance in the sacral chakra, they may become visible on your physical body or manifest in a more emotional or mental way.

Take a look a the most common manifestations of imbalance of the sacral chakra:

Chronic lower back painAddictionRepressed emotions
Ovarian cystsLack of creativityFrustration
Urinary tract infectionsPessimismOver emotional
Kidney and bladder problemsSexual obsessionsOut of touch with yourself
ImpotenceLack of sexual desireDepression
Manifestation of imbalances of the Sacral Chakra

how can i balance my sacral chakra?

There is many ways you can improve the health of your sacral chakra. Here are some tips:

  • Food, through the ingestion of orange foods, nuts and seeds, juicy and oily vegetables (like avocado and coconut)
  • Aromatherapy (essential oils or incense): orange, rose, cardamom, ylang ylang
  • Breath of Fire (breathwork), read more here;
  • Mudra: Dhyani mudra (place the hands on your lap with the palms facing up, rest your right palm on the top of the left, bring the tips of the thumbs to touch)
  • Mantra: VAM (listen here); “I am a creative being”, “Life is a divine gift that I want, and I am allowed to enjoy.”
  • Crystals: fire agate, orange tourmaline, tiger eye
  • Meditation
  • Yoga positions like: Cobra pose (Bhujangasana), Hare or Rabbit pose (Sasakasana), Bow pose (Dhanurasana), Goddess Pose (Utkata Konasana)

Share this with your family and friends!

Ready to start your practice?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We use cookies in order to give you the best possible experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies.
Privacy Policy